Current Members

Prof. Peidong Yang

Peidong Yang received a B.S. in chemistry from University of Science and Technology of China in 1993 and a Ph.D. in chemistry from Harvard University in 1997. He did postdoctoral research at University of California, Santa Barbara before joining the faculty in the department of Chemistry at the University of California, Berkeley in 1999. He is currently professor in the Department of Chemistry, Materials Science and Engineering; and a senior faculty scientist at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. He is S. K. and Angela Chan Distinguished Chair Professor in Energy. He was recently elected as MRS Fellow, and as a member of the National Academy of Sciences and American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

He is the director for California Research Alliance by BASF, and co-director for the Kavli Energy Nanoscience Institute. He is one of the founding members for DOE Energy Innovation Hub: Joint Center for Artificial Photosysnthesis (JCAP) and served as its north director for the first two years.  Yang is an associate editor for Journal of the American Chemical Society and also serves on editorial advisory board for number of journals including Acct. Chem. Res. and Nano. Lett. He was the founder of the Nanoscience subdivision within American Chemical Society. He has co-founded two startups Nanosys Inc. and Alphabet Energy Inc. He is the recipient of MacArthur Fellowship, E. O. Lawrence Award, ACS Nanoscience Award, MRS Medal, Baekeland Medal, Alfred P. Sloan research fellowship, the Arnold and Mabel Beckman Young Investigator Award, National Science Foundation Young Investigator Award, MRS Young Investigator Award, Julius Springer Prize for Applied Physics, ACS Pure Chemistry Award, and Alan T. Waterman Award. According to ISI (Thomas Reuters), Yang is ranked as No. 1 in materials science and No. 10 in chemistry for the past 10 years based on average citation per paper. His main research interest is in the area of one dimensional semiconductor nanostructures and their applications in nanophotonics and energy conversion.

Office: Hildebrand 239
Tel: (510) 643-1545
Fax: (510) 642-7301
p_yang@berkeley.edu

Group Office: Hildebrand Hall 315
Tel: (510) 642-2867

CVD Office: Hildebrand Hall 301B
Tel: (510) 642-4461

Wet lab: Hildebrand Hall 309
Tel: (510) 643-6866

Administrative Assistant:
Lissette Garcia
Tel: (510) 643-1679
lgarcia@calmail.berkeley.edu

Lissette Garcia

Adminstrative Assistant

Crystal Garcia
Crystal Garcia

Administrative Assistant
crysgarcia@berkeley.edu

Graduate Students

Dohyung Kim
Dohyung Kim

Project: Catalysis
persni@berkeley.edu

Hao Zhang

Project: Bio
zhanghao09@berkeley.edu

Qiao Kong

Project: Perovskites
kongqiao@berkeley.edu

Yifan Li

Project: Catalysis
liyifan@berkeley.edu

Minliang Lai

Project: Perovskites
mllai@berkeley.edu

Teng Lei (2015)

Project: Perovskites
leiteng@berkeley.edu

Sunmoon Yu
Sunmoon Yu (2016)

Project: Catalysis
sunmoon.yu@berkeley.edu

Mengyu Gao
Mengyu Gao (2016)

Project: Perovskites
mygao@berkeley.edu

Ye Zhang
Ye Zhang (2016)

Project: Perovskites
ye_zhang@berkeley.edu

Zhenni Lin
Zhenni Lin (2016)

Project: Perovskites
zhenni_lin@berkeley.edu

Shouping Chen
Shouping Chen (2016)

Project: Catalysis
shouping_chen@berkeley.edu

Stefano Cestellos-Blanco
Stefano Cestellos-Blanco (2016)

Project: Bio
cestellos@berkeley.edu

Sheena Louisia
Sheena Louisia (2016)

Project: Catalysis
sheena_louisia@berkeley.edu

Martin Siron
Martin Siron (2017)

Project: Perovskites
martin.siron@berkeley.edu

Chubai Chen
Chubai Chen (2017)

Project: Bio
chubai_chen@berkeley.edu

Christopher Jackson
Christopher Jackson (2017)

Project: Perovskites
Email: ctjackson@berkeley.edu

Chung-Kuan Lin (2017)

Project: Perovskites
Email: cklin@berkeley.edu

Jianbo Jin (2018)

Project: Perovskites
Email: jianbo_jin@berkeley.edu

Maria Folgueras (2018)

Project: Perovskites
Email: mcf26@berkeley.edu

Inwhan Roh (2018)

Email: inwhan.roh@berkeley.edu

Ji Min Kim (2018)

Email: jimin_kim@berkeley.edu

 

 

 

 

Post-Doctoral Fellows

Yude Su
Yude Su

Project: Bio
suyude@berkeley.edu

Christopher Kley

Project: Artificial Photosynthesis
c.kley@berkeley.edu

Jianmei Huang
Jianmei Huang

Project: Artificial Photosynthesis
jianmeihuang@berkeley.edu

Jia Lin
Jia Lin

Project: Photovoltaics
hgmgbmjgj@gmail.com

Michael Ross
Michael Ross

Project: Catalysis
mbross@berkeley.edu

Hong Chen
Hong Chen

Project: Perovskites/Catalysis
chenhongcug@gmail.com

Yong Liu
Yong Liu

Project: Catalysis
liuyong3873@berkeley.edu

Bei Zhang
Bei Zhang

Project: Catalysis
Email: beizhang@berkeley.edu

Yuexiao Shen

Project: Bio
syxbach@berkeley.edu

Yuhong Cao

Project: Bio
Email: caoyuhong@berkeley.edu

Li Na Quan (2018)

lquan@lbl.gov

Joohoon Kang (2018)

Email: joohoon@berkeley.edu

Mufan Li (2018)

Project: Catalysis
Email: mufanli@lbl.gov

 

 

 

 

Master Students

Tom Tacken (2018)

Project: Bio
Email: tatacken@berkeley.edu

Wesley Chuang (2018)

Project: Catalysis
Email: wesley_chuang@berkeley.edu

 

Undergraduate Students

Vincent Wu

Project: Perovskite
vincent.wu@berkeley.edu

Alan Liang

Project: Catalysis
Email: alan.liang@berkeley.edu

Jan Chan

Project: Catalysis
Email: jan.chan@berkeley.edu

Rachel Chan

Project: Bio
Email: rc10004887@berkeley.edu