Current Members

Prof. Peidong Yang

Peidong Yang received a B.S. in chemistry from University of Science and Technology of China in 1993 and a Ph.D. in chemistry from Harvard University in 1997. He did postdoctoral research at University of California, Santa Barbara before joining the faculty in the department of Chemistry at the University of California, Berkeley in 1999. He is currently professor in the Department of Chemistry, Materials Science and Engineering; and a senior faculty scientist at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. He is S. K. and Angela Chan Distinguished Chair Professor in Energy. He was recently elected as MRS Fellow, and as a member of the National Academy of Sciences and American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

He is the director for California Research Alliance by BASF, and co-director for the Kavli Energy Nanoscience Institute. He is one of the founding members for DOE Energy Innovation Hub: Joint Center for Artificial Photosysnthesis (JCAP) and served as its north director for the first two years.  Yang is an associate editor for Journal of the American Chemical Society and also serves on editorial advisory board for number of journals including Acct. Chem. Res. and Nano. Lett. He was the founder of the Nanoscience subdivision within American Chemical Society. He has co-founded two startups Nanosys Inc. and Alphabet Energy Inc. He is the recipient of MacArthur Fellowship, E. O. Lawrence Award, ACS Nanoscience Award, MRS Medal, Baekeland Medal, Alfred P. Sloan research fellowship, the Arnold and Mabel Beckman Young Investigator Award, National Science Foundation Young Investigator Award, MRS Young Investigator Award, Julius Springer Prize for Applied Physics, ACS Pure Chemistry Award, and Alan T. Waterman Award. According to ISI (Thomas Reuters), Yang is ranked as No. 1 in materials science and No. 10 in chemistry for the past 10 years based on average citation per paper. His main research interest is in the area of one dimensional semiconductor nanostructures and their applications in nanophotonics and energy conversion.

Office: Hildebrand 239
Tel: (510) 643-1545
Fax: (510) 642-7301
p_yang@berkeley.edu

Group Office: Hildebrand Hall 315
Tel: (510) 642-2867

CVD Office: Hildebrand Hall 301B
Tel: (510) 642-4461

Wet lab: Hildebrand Hall 309
Tel: (510) 643-6866

Administrative Assistant:
Lissette Garcia
Tel: (510) 643-1679
lgarcia@calmail.berkeley.edu

Lissette Garcia

Adminstrative Assistant

Crystal GarciaCrystal Garcia

Administrative Assistant
crysgarcia@berkeley.edu

Graduate Students

Andrew Wong

Project: Perovskites
andrew.b.wong@berkeley.edu

Nigel BecknellNigel Becknell

Project: Catalysis
nbecknell@berkeley.edu

Yude SuYude Su

Project: Bio
suyude@berkeley.edu

Dohyung KimDohyung Kim

Project: Catalysis
persni@berkeley.edu

Dandan Zhang

Project: Perovskites
zhangdandan@berkeley.edu

Fan Cui

Project: Catalysis
cuifan@berkeley.edu

Chenlu Xie

Project: Catalysis
clxie92@berkeley.edu

Hao Zhang

Project: Bio
zhanghao09@berkeley.edu

Qiao Kong

Project: Perovskites
kongqiao@berkeley.edu

Yifan Li

Project: Catalysis
liyifan@berkeley.edu

Minliang Lai

Project: Perovskites
mllai@berkeley.edu

Teng LeiTeng Lei

Project: Perovskites
leiteng@berkeley.edu

Sunmoon YuSunmoon Yu

Project: Catalysis
sunmoon.yu@berkeley.edu

Mengyu GaoMengyu Gao

Project: Perovskites
mygao@berkeley.edu

Ye ZhangYe Zhang

Project: Perovskites
ye_zhang@berkeley.edu

Zhenni LinZhenni Lin

Project: Bio
zhenni_lin@berkeley.edu

Shouping ChenShouping Chen

Project: Catalysis
shouping_chen@berkeley.edu

Stefano Cestellos-BlancoStefano Cestellos-Blanco

Project: Bio
cestellos@berkeley.edu

Sheena LouisiaSheena Louisia

Project: Catalysis
sheena_louisia@berkeley.edu

Post-Doctoral Fellows

Yi Yu

Project: TEM
y-yu@berkeley.edu

Letian Dou

Project: Photovoltaics
ldou@berkeley.edu
Website

Woochul LeeWoochul Lee

Project: Transport
woochullee@lbl.gov

Christopher Kley

Project: Artificial Photosynthesis
c.kley@berkeley.edu

Zhiqiang Niu

Project: Catalysis
zqniu@berkeley.edu

Yoonkook SonYoonkook Son

Project: Catalysis
y.son@berkeley.edu

Ji SuJi Su

Project: Catalysis
jisu@lbl.gov

Yiming YangYiming Yang

Project: Photovoltaics
ymyang@lbl.gov

Hao LiuHao Liu

Project: Catalysis
hl38@berkeley.edu

Jianmei HuangJianmei Huang

Project: Artificial Photosynthesis
jianmeihuang@berkeley.edu

Jia LinJia Lin

Project: Photovoltaics
hgmgbmjgj@gmail.com

Mike RossMike Ross

Project: Catalysis
mross2011@u.northwestern.edu

Dylan LuDylan Lu

Project: Photonics
dylu@berkeley.edu

Hong ChenHong Chen

Project: Perovskites/Catalysis
chenhongcug@gmail.com

Sunmi KimSunmi Kim

Project: Catalysis
smkim@berkeley.edu

Yong LiuYong Liu

Project: Catalysis
liuyong3873@berkeley.edu

Visiting Scholars/Researchers

Zhiquan TianZhiquan Tian

Project: Bio
zqtian@whu.edu.cn

Undergraduate Students

Jesika BarmanbekJesika Barmanbek

Project: Catalysis
jesika@berkeley.edu

Cindy Zheng

Project: Catalysis
cinzhe@berkeley.edu

Elbert Lin

Project: Photovoltaics
elbertlin168@berkeley.edu

Yuchun SunYuchun Sun

Project: Catalysis
y.sun@berkeley.edu