Current Members

Prof. Peidong Yang

See his brief profile featured in PNAS.

Peidong Yang received a B.S. in chemistry from the University of Science and Technology of China in 1993 and a Ph.D. in chemistry from Harvard University in 1997. He did postdoctoral research at the University of California, Santa Barbara before joining the faculty in the Department of Chemistry at the University of California, Berkeley in 1999. He is currently a professor in the Department of Chemistry, Materials Science and Engineering, and a senior faculty scientist at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. He is S. K. and Angela Chan Distinguished Chair Professor in Energy. He is a member of both the National Academy of Sciences and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a member of the European Academy of Engineering, and a foreign member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences.

He is the director of the California Research Alliance by BASF and the director of the Kavli Energy Nanoscience Institute. He is one of the founding members of DOE Energy Innovation Hub: Joint Center for Artificial Photosynthesis (JCAP) and served as its north director for the first two years. He is also an affiliated faculty of the Bakar Institute of Digital Materials for the Planet (BIDMaP). Yang is an executive editor for the Journal of the American Chemical Society and also serves on the editorial advisory board for a number of journals including Acct. Chem. Res. and Nano. Lett. He was the founder of the Nanoscience subdivision within the American Chemical Society. He has co-founded two startups Nanosys Inc. and Alphabet Energy Inc.

He is the recipient of the MacArthur Fellowship, Global Energy Prize, E. O. Lawrence Award, Alan T. Waterman Award, MRS Medal, Baekeland Medal, Julius Springer Prize for Applied Physics, ACS Nanoscience Award, Alfred P. Sloan research fellowship, the Arnold and Mabel Beckman Young Investigator Award, National Science Foundation Young Investigator Award, MRS Young Investigator Award, and ACS Pure Chemistry Award.

According to ISI (Thomas Reuters), Yang was ranked No. 1 in materials science and No. 10 in chemistry from 2002-2012 based on average citations per paper. He is the 2014 Thomas Reuters Citation Laureate for Physics. His main research interest is in the area of semiconductor nanowires and their applications in nanophotonics and energy conversion.

Office: Hildebrand 239
Tel: (510) 643-1545
Fax: (510) 642-7301

Group Office: Hildebrand Hall 315
Tel: (510) 642-2867

CVD Office: Hildebrand Hall 301B
Tel: (510) 642-4461

Wet lab: Hildebrand Hall 309
Tel: (510) 643-6866


Lissette Garcia

Administrative Officer, CARA Center Program Manager
Tel: (510) 643-1679.

Crystal Garcia

Administrative Officer
Tel: (510) 393-1500.

Graduate Students

Jia-An Lin (Chemistry, 2019)

Taiwan-Berkeley Fellowship
Education: B.S. Chemistry, National Taiwan University.
Email: Google Scholar.
Research Interests: Ultrathin 1D/2D perovskites

Han Le (Chemistry, 2019)

NSF Graduate Research Fellowship
Education: B.A. Chemistry and Mathematics, Franklin & Marshall College
Research Interests: Phase Transitions of Perovskites

Alexander Oddo (Chemistry, 2020)

Education: B.S. Chemistry (Honors Scholar) and M.S. Chemistry, both from the University of Connecticut in 2020.
Research Interests: perovskites & photophysics

Yu Shan (MSE, 2021)

Education: B.S. Materials Science and Engineering, University of Chinese Academy of Sciences (UCAS), China
Research Interests: Catalyst design for CO2 reduction. I am a shutterbug and like basketball~

Arifin Luthfi Maulana (MSE, 2021)

Education: B.S. and M.S. in Engineering Physics, Institut Teknologi Bandung, Indonesia
Email: Google Scholar.
Research Interests: Multicomponent materials for electrocatalysis

Yuxin Jiang (Chemistry, 2021)

Education: B.A. Chemistry, Mount Holyoke College
Research Interests: Perovskite materials

Libby Lineberry (Chemistry, 2021)

Education: B.S. Chemistry, Bethany College
Research Interests: Photo-driven CO2 reduction using microbe-semiconductor biohybrids

Julian Feijoo (Chemistry, 2021)

Education: M.S. in Chemistry from LMU Munich, B.S. in Chemistry & Biochemistry from LMU Munich
Research Interests: Electrocatalysis

Nathan Soland (Chemistry, 2021)

Education: B.S. Chemistry, UC Davis
Research Interests: Electrocatalysis for CO2 reduction and carbohydrate production

Maria Fonseca Guzman (Chemistry, 2021)

Education: B.S. in Chemical Engineering, University of Massachusetts Lowell
Research Interests: CO2 electrochemical reduction

Lihini Jayasinghe (Chemistry, 2022)

Education: B.S. in Chemistry, Institute of Chemistry Ceylon, Sri Lanka
Research Interests: Photosynthetic biohybrid systems

Jihoon Choi (MSE, 2023)

Education: B.S. in Materials Science and Engineering, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology
Research Interests: CO2 electrolysis

Andrew Liu (MSE, 2023)

Education: B.S.E. in Mechanical Engineering, Duke University
Research Interests: Photoelectrochemical reduction of CO2

Heqing Zhu (Chemistry, 2023)

Education: B.S. in Chemistry, Nanjing University
Research Interests: Halide perovskites

Wonseok Lee (MSE, 2023)

Education: B.S. in Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology
Research Interests: (Photo)electrochemistry and CO2 reduction using photosynthetic biohybrids

Jaydeep Basu (Chemistry, 2023)

Education: B.S. in Chemistry, St. Xavier’s College (Autonomous) Kolkata, M.S. in Chemistry, Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Delhi
Research Interests: Nanowires – light-matter interactions

Tianle Wang (Chemistry, 2023)

Education: B.S. in Chemistry, University of Michigan, Ann-Arbor
Research Interests: Electrocatalysis for CO2 reduction

Lior Verbitsky (Chemistry, 2022)

Education: B.Sc. and M.Sc. in Chemistry, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem in Israel
Email: Personal Website. Google Scholar.
Research Interests: Perovskite nanowires

Post-Doctoral Fellows and Visiting Scholars

Yao Yang (2021)

Miller Research Fellowship (2021-2024)
Education: Ph.D., Chemistry, Cornell University.
Research Interests: Operando/in situ electrochemical liquid-cell scanning transmission electron microscopy (EC-STEM) and synchrotron-based X-ray methods for understanding CO2 reduction reaction mechanisms at gas-solid-liquid interfaces.

Jinhyun Kim (2022)

Education: Ph.D., Materials Science and Engineering, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST)
Email: Google Scholar. Linkedin.
Research Interests: Liquid sunlight using (photo)electrocatalysts and CO2-reductive bacteria

Hye Jin Jo (2022)

Education: Ph.D., Food Science and Engineering, Ewha Womans University
Research Interests: Liquid sunlight using CO2-reductive bacteria

Jie Luo (2023)

Education: Ph.D., Organic Chemistry, Sun Yat-Sen University; Postdoctoral Fellow, Green Homogeneous Catalysis, Weizmann Institute of Science
Research Interests: CO2 to sugar; Photocatalytic alcohol dehydrogenation

Geonhui Lee (2023)

Education: Ph.D., Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Toronto
Research Interests: CO2 capture and upgrade

Undergraduate Students

Emily Lu


Amelyn Phang

Research Interests: Covalent nanorods for energy conversion

Josh Wei

Research Interests: Photosynthetic biohybrids

Alex Sachelarie

Research Interests: CO2 electrocatalysis

Bruce Pan

Research Interests: Chalcogenide perovskites and metal oxysulfides